Go Back   Hardware Forums > Community Zone > General Chat

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17-02-2007, 05:23 AM   # 1 (permalink) Top
GEEK 2.0
 
blade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Gender: Male
Posts: 417
Times Helpful: 1
My Mood: Relaxed
Status: Offline

My Computer

Question fullreleases.com? Legit?

I found a Web site fullreleases.com, and I was wondering if anyone has had experience with them? Are they legit? Are they worth the $5 bucks?

__________________
Send a message via MSN to blade Send a message via Skype™ to blade   Reply With Quote
Whats this? Sponsored Listing
Old 17-02-2007, 04:37 AM   # 2 (permalink) Top
in doubt, give it a clout
 
donkey42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Age: 36 Male
Posts: 6,353
Times Helpful: 338
My Mood: Paranoid
Status: Offline

My Computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by blade
Are they legit?
that site looks like it was set up by the authorities to catch people out
Off Topic:

i wouldn't use it, personally
  Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2007, 07:20 AM   # 3 (permalink) Top
out of date
 
zeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Age: 28 Male
Posts: 1,801
Times Helpful: 117
My Mood: Twisted
Status: Offline

My Computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by donkey42 View Post
that site looks like it was set up by the authorities to catch people out
Is that legit?

There are programs available to download so its gotta be an illegal site.
There are websites which are free that host tv shows and films n stuff.... probably still illegal but its slowly changing for tv shows.

Why pay for pirate media?
  Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2007, 10:24 AM   # 4 (permalink) Top
MiCrO$oFt $uK$ :D
 
Willz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Age: 20 Male
Posts: 4,237
Times Helpful: 150
My Mood: Lurking
Status: Offline

My Computer

Its obviously not Legit, deffenitly not, on Usenet, it costs monthly, has everything but it still aint legit.
__________________
Send a message via AIM to Willz Send a message via MSN to Willz Send a message via Yahoo to Willz   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2007, 04:23 PM   # 5 (permalink) Top
GEEK 2.0
 
blade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Gender: Male
Posts: 417
Times Helpful: 1
My Mood: Relaxed
Status: Offline

My Computer

yea, i searched reviews on it on google, they basically said the samething you guys did; phewww, i was sooooo close on signing up, good thing I didn't
__________________
Send a message via MSN to blade Send a message via Skype™ to blade   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 07:52 AM   # 6 (permalink) Top
Geek Trainee
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Gender: Female
Posts: 1
Status: Offline
I had an account there, and it ws only five dollars after jumping through a few hoops. I really liked it! There were thousands of programs and files and movies and music! I got some of my best programs from there. Of course there was some malware in there but it was fairly easy to spot them. There is a meter to tell you how good the file was doing (from red to yellow to green), how many uploads there were, the date it was added...It ws pretty much the easiest bit torrent sight I have used (it was actually my first ). I tried shareaza afterwards and found it totally confusing and ended up really messing up my system - I had to reformat the whole thing, couldn't use my backups- they were somehow corrupted as well! So yeah, it seemed legit enough, I mean come on how can we reserve the right to anything that anyone else can fathom? That would be like trying to patent the word sky because I saw it first...it's all gray!

P.S. Since all the bad publicity I cannot find the site anymore so I think it closed down-bummed -bad rap
Send a message via Yahoo to gmarie808   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 12:09 PM   # 7 (permalink) Top
Nonconformist Geek
 
Anti-Trend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Age: 28 Male
Posts: 5,520
Times Helpful: 662
Status: Offline

My Computer

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but buying OEM software directly isn't legal by nature. This is because OEM deals are made between huge companies for bulk software sales under the condition that they will not be sold individually. Even if it was legal, it certainly wouldn't be distributed by peer-2-peer software, I can pretty much guarantee that. It sounds like you're talking about a bittorrent site?

In fact, it sounds like you were probably suckered into paying for something that a) isn't legal, and b) everybody else you're downloading from isn't paying for at all. These sites have absolutely no affiliation with or legal right to sell any of the software they're distributing, and they're not even hosting the files, they're simply linking to them. It's simply another case of opportunism.
Send a message via ICQ to Anti-Trend Send a message via AIM to Anti-Trend   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Decent, legit, online jobs? Exfoliate IT Careers and Certification 20 19-05-2009 05:03 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:12 AM.



Copyright © 2000 - 2008 · HARDWAREFORUMS.COM · All rights reserved, Hosted by Servint