Go Back   Hardware Forums > Community Zone > General Chat

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-01-2007, 05:21 PM   #1 (permalink) Top
The Ninj

 
Swansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Age: 22 Male
Posts: 1,661
Times Helpful: 36
My Mood: Busy
Status: Offline

My Computer

Default Shady website??

http://oemsoftware.ws/
i found this website, and i don't remember how, but anyways, there are some crazy deal here, any software you can think of and nothing over 45 dollars, it has to be a scam.

__________________
Times inadvertently confused people in threads: 4812485 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by megamaced View Post
"Welcome to another of Swansen's random thoughts. Guaranteed to confuse the best of us, or your money back!"
LCD, CRT and general computer display info / Real_Ultimate_Power ---- FOLDING FOR THE GOOD OF MANKIND :F@H Team 38417

Send a message via AIM to Swansen Send a message via Yahoo to Swansen   Reply With Quote
Whats this? G15 Gaming Keyboard
G15 Gaming Keyboard
Seller Price (inc. VAT) Delivery Total Price Availability Seller Rating
Tekheads.co.uk £54.99 £4.95 £59.94 In Stock Rated: 3 out of 5 - Number of votes: 310
Misco.co.uk £52.84 £3.99 £56.83 In Stock Rated: 4 out of 5 - Number of votes: 1355
Dell Business £44.35 £8.23 £52.58 In Stock Rated: 0 out of 5 - Number of votes:
Old 03-01-2007, 04:54 PM   #2 (permalink) Top
out of date
 
zeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Age: 27 Male
Posts: 1,654
Times Helpful: 105
My Mood: Twisted
Status: Offline

My Computer

Theres loads of them about. I think they are just copies. Maya for $55... it would have to be a copy! Maya 8 upgrade costs a grand!
maya unlimited - Froogle
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 08:00 PM   #3 (permalink) Top
The King

 
Addis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Age: 18 Male
Posts: 5,255
Times Helpful: 403
My Mood: Drunk
Status: Offline

My Computer

Maybe, but damn tempting though. Because obviously we consumers would have no idea that the discs may not be original or the license may not be legitimate
__________________
Never trust a program you don't have the source code for.

My website | Powerful Desktop Linux | Linux for human beings | Linux for power users | Linux for ricers
Send a message via MSN to Addis   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 04:34 AM   #4 (permalink) Top
The Ninj

 
Swansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Age: 22 Male
Posts: 1,661
Times Helpful: 36
My Mood: Busy
Status: Offline

My Computer

yeah thats what i figured, that they sold unlicensed versions. Lol, good i guess if you don't really care about support or upgrading and yes what Addis said is very true
__________________
Times inadvertently confused people in threads: 4812485 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by megamaced View Post
"Welcome to another of Swansen's random thoughts. Guaranteed to confuse the best of us, or your money back!"
LCD, CRT and general computer display info / Real_Ultimate_Power ---- FOLDING FOR THE GOOD OF MANKIND :F@H Team 38417

Send a message via AIM to Swansen Send a message via Yahoo to Swansen   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 04:40 AM   #5 (permalink) Top
May the source be with u!


 
Impotence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Age: 19 Male
Posts: 1,878
Times Helpful: 126
My Mood: Stressed
Status: Offline

My Computer

dont even bloody think about it!

do you know how much spam these guys are responsible for? if anything get bandwidth leeching....
__________________
Dear intel,Already Made My Decision
Never trust a computer you can't repair yourself.
Windows Vista - Viruses Intruders Spyware Trojans Adware
Why Linux is Better!|Pastafairianism|Say no to National ID|Firefox Extensions Guide
scientology has been getting alot of attention recently

When the rich wage war, it is the poor who die.
Where are the WMD's that our governments used to justify the war?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 09:41 PM   #6 (permalink) Top
Geek Comrade
 
DaRuSsIaMaN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Age: 22 Male
Posts: 754
Times Helpful: 12
Status: Offline

My Computer

Um I think that very likely you won't get anything at all from it. Not just a pirated copy, I think they'll just take your money, and you'll never hear from them again nor will you be able to do anything about it. Where is that website based/hosted anyway? Probably on the other side of the globe? What does the .ws extension at the end of the URL mean? I would be tempted if I didn't think they would outright scam me.
__________________
Ignorance is bliss. Oedipus ruined a great sex life by asking too many questions... "So, got any kids?"

- Stephen Colbert

My computer is not much to brag about, but I shall do so anyway.
AMD 1800+ Athlon XP..............SoundBlaster PCI 512
ASUS A7N8X..........................WD 80GB
ATI Radeon 8500....................WinXP Pro
Send a message via AIM to DaRuSsIaMaN   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 03:46 AM   #7 (permalink) Top
The Ninj

 
Swansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Age: 22 Male
Posts: 1,661
Times Helpful: 36
My Mood: Busy
Status: Offline

My Computer

.ws is short for website, i have seen a few .ws extensions in my travels, but yeah thats a good point.
__________________
Times inadvertently confused people in threads: 4812485 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by megamaced View Post
"Welcome to another of Swansen's random thoughts. Guaranteed to confuse the best of us, or your money back!"
LCD, CRT and general computer display info / Real_Ultimate_Power ---- FOLDING FOR THE GOOD OF MANKIND :F@H Team 38417

Send a message via AIM to Swansen Send a message via Yahoo to Swansen   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 09:48 PM   #8 (permalink) Top
Geek Comrade
 
DaRuSsIaMaN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Age: 22 Male
Posts: 754
Times Helpful: 12
Status: Offline

My Computer

Oh. Well that's the first time I've ever seen a .ws, as far as I remember lol.
__________________
Ignorance is bliss. Oedipus ruined a great sex life by asking too many questions... "So, got any kids?"

- Stephen Colbert

My computer is not much to brag about, but I shall do so anyway.
AMD 1800+ Athlon XP..............SoundBlaster PCI 512
ASUS A7N8X..........................WD 80GB
ATI Radeon 8500....................WinXP Pro
Send a message via AIM to DaRuSsIaMaN   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Website Review Egaladeist Web Development 6 27-10-2006 07:02 PM
Re: Website Template Matt555 General Chat 1 25-10-2006 06:45 PM
Website Template mut Buy / Sell / Trade 0 25-10-2006 01:48 PM
New website PC WizKid General Chat 2 20-12-2004 01:08 PM
NForcersHQ website is up!!! Big B News and Article Comments 0 04-12-2002 01:24 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Copyright © 2000 - 2008 · HARDWAREFORUMS.COM · All rights reserved