Every folder on your Mac contains a file called .DS_Store. It contains metadata, size and position of icons and background settings. Because the file name starts with a dot, it's invisible on Mac OS X. However these files are also stored on network locations. If you connect to a shared Microsoft Windows folder, these files are created there too. But in Windows, these files are not hidden and can therefore be annoying when opening these folders in Windows. The creation of .DS_Store files on Network Shares can be prevented with the following Terminal command: Code: defaults write com.apple.desktopservices DSDontWriteNetworkStores true To enable it again, use this command: Code: defaults write com.apple.desktopservices DSDontWriteNetworkStores false You need to restart your Mac to apply the settings.