motherbard replacement

Discussion in 'CPU, Motherboards and Memory' started by rob_hellfire, May 3, 2006.

1. rob_hellfire

rob_hellfire Geek Trainee

It's been a while since i blew a hole in my motherboard (gigabyte KA8 or something, socket A, dual bios thingy AGP vid socket)

Anywho now i'm sat reading micromart and i'm dribbling profuely over socket 939 x2 processors then the slap in the face comes and reminds me i'm a student, POOR, skint and any other word for financially challenged.

My pc consisted of:
    athlon 1200xp (xp i'm not sure about)
    ati radeon AGP gfx, cant remember full model name
    256mb 266mhz ddr ram (cheap)
    IDE hdd maxtor 80gb
    other bits

should i get replacement mobo for these bitsand stick where i am for the mo, or go for mobo that allows for pci-e vid card and get the upgrade train moving, i'd love to buy amd64 3400, gigabyte K8N sli, 2gb corsair ram and lovely pair of gfx cards in sli/crossfire but it's just so damned expensive.

Currently running amd k2 6 500, 384mb ram sd, 15gb hdd and velocity 4400 gfx card, i dont think it know what 3d means :)

Please help

Edit: sorry missed the upgrade section when looking where to put this thread, if it needs to be moved, sorry :)

2. Impotence

Impotence May the source be with u!

You might be "POOR" (arnt we all :p) but how much are you looking to spend?

3. Big B

Big B HWF Godfather

Ultimately, you would be served by a new motherboard/CPU combo for starters, you may need to settle for a good Socket A motherboard.