Sound Card Help

Discussion in 'Sound Cards and Speakers' started by Andy88, Aug 11, 2004.

1. Andy88

Andy88 Geek Trainee

Hi, I need to install my sound card but I don’t have a clue what it is. I'm on Win98.
    I can’t find my disk, which I think, has it. I have opened up the PC to look for its manufacture details but had no luck.
    Sounds dumb but, is there any way I can install it without knowing what it is? :confused:
    I've tried Win update - that didnt help.
    Please if you reply explain in detail what I need to do as I’m not very good with PC’s.

Many thanks.

2. Big B

Big B HWF Godfather

Without knowing what the card is, it's going to be really tough with the info given. Is this a pre-built system from the likes of Compaq/HP, Dell, or other big name? If so which one. It should say somewhere on the tower.

If it's some local shop machine (and even if it's not, this info could really help), is the sound card an actual card, or is it part of the motherboard? If it's an expansion card (which will fit into an ISA---a long black slot, or PCI---a shorter white slot), take it out (with the computer off) and look at the main chip on the card. Post the info on the chip and we can make some headway.

3. Andy88

Andy88 Geek Trainee

It's built by a local shop, no big name.
    I have a feeling its a Creative card although I’m unsure.
    What you suggested about taking card out etc. could be really helpful but, I don’t have much knowledge about PC's and I don’t really want to be messing about with its insides. When I opened it up earlier I was just looking but, couldn’t find anything.
    EDIT: I also think the card is part of the motherboard , not sure though.

4. Big B

Big B HWF Godfather

Okay, are the speaker jacks grouped like this?

Or is it coming from a card in a white slot?

5. Andy88

Andy88 Geek Trainee

Like that, on my PC the jacks are horizontal and have a joypad port mounted on the side.

6. Andy88

Andy88 Geek Trainee