suggestions?

Discussion in 'TV, Movies, Anime and Manga' started by stinkfing3r, May 19, 2005.

1. stinkfing3r

stinkfing3r Big Geek

im a super noob to anime. i mean SUPER NOOOB!

But i know what style im looking for and i need some title suggestions to dl and check out.

The only thing i have to base my description off of is akira. i own it and have watched it several times. I like that style anime, not the kind where they act silly and stuff and their facial features turn into little kid kinda shit. Im looking for straight shit like akira was, and the more detailed the better. I like the techie style stuff with robots and machines, lots of blood. But most importantly im looking for a gooood story line. I liked akira so again who knows what that could mean i guess :)

i know my description may suck but the only anime i ever watched was from Sci-Fi Channel Anime Week, and that was probably 10 years ago.

So Any suggestions?

ps

just got macross 1-46
    hellsing 1-13
    macross zero 1-5
    cowboy bebop 1-26 and movie.
    full metal alchemist

only have watched macross zero and full metal alchemist and although they are not what im looking for i like em ok (full metal alchemist has some of that little kid animation to it but not to bad).

2. Big B

Big B HWF Godfather

I'd start with Neon Genesis Evangelion and RahXephon. They will screw with your head, so you probably will need to watch them through a few times to get everything. Now, they do get comparisons, but if you actually watch them, I think you'll find them to stand on their own. Another excellent mecha series is Gasaraki. There's not a lot of mention of it, but it's got a real militaristic feel to it. Full Metal Panic! (yes the "!" is part of the title) is another sweet mecha show. It's got some comedic bits to it, but the emphesis is on the action. Full Metal Panic? Fumoffu is the same characters, but focuses on the high-school hijinks side of things.