Intel vs. AMD

Discussion in 'CPU, Motherboards and Memory' started by IP_Freely, Dec 15, 2005.

1. IP_Freely

IP_Freely Geek Trainee

Don't worry, I'm not going to start yet another one of these debates. I just have a few quick questions, that I'm hoping you can answer.
    I'm new to all this, so please go easy on me :O

The thing is, I have a Pentium 4 3GHz processor on my desktop computer, but when I start my real estate studies next year, I need to sell this and buy a laptop. The choice is between a Pentium 4 515 2,93 GHz and an AMD Athlon 64 3200+, and what I want to know, is basically which one to choose?

I know this has to with something about 64/32 bits, and that AMD name their processors after their respective performance, but all I want is to know if the 3200+ processor are as good as the 3GHz processor from Intel, even though the AMD processor run at far less GHz.

Whatever, I'm not gonna elaborate any further as I'm what you guys would call a "n00b", so please just help me out :D

2. Anti-Trend

Anti-Trend Nonconformist Geek

Yes, AMD processors perform much better than P4s even at a 1GHz+ descrepancy. Also, AMD64s use much less power and put off less heat than P4s, so they make very good mobile CPUs.

3. Impotence

Impotence May the source be with u!

*agrees with Anti-Trend*, you will also be able to upgrade to a 64 bit OS if you choose the AMD & all new AMD's have "cool n quiet" tech which reduced power useage by upto 70% when you rcomputer is doing nothing [when you computer is idle].

AMD is the recomended choice in 99.9% of situations :p

4. IP_Freely

IP_Freely Geek Trainee

Thanks a lot, both of you :)

5. Matt555

Matt555 iMod

Yeah go for AMD, they beat Intel at pretty much everything, although Intel does win in video encoding situations.
    AMD's basically do more work per cycle which is why they can be 'faster' than Intel with less clockspeed.
    :good:

6. IP_Freely

IP_Freely Geek Trainee

Thanks mate