Linux Mandrake 10

Discussion in 'Linux, BSD and Other OS's' started by ninja fetus, Apr 3, 2004.

1. ninja fetus

ninja fetus I'm a thugged out gangsta

i jus downloaded and burnt mandrake onto a differentcomp, ive never used linux before and when i boot up it loike looks like DOS and a whole bunh of text scrolls. it asks for my usermane so i type it in and it says like [nick@localhost nick]$ or someting like that. i have no idea what do do after that...so any help would be appreciated, im not familiar with linux at all and this is my first time with it

2. Anti-Trend

Anti-Trend Nonconformist Geek

It seems that either:

a) you didn't configure your graphical server (called X) during the install
    b) you chose not to start the X server automatically
    c) you chose the wrong video card during hardware config
    d) you chose the wrong monitor or resolution during hardware config

Normally with Linux there are many things to do to remedy this situation, but for simplicitiy's sake, I recommend that you reinstall from scratch. That way you can start out on the right foot, instead of troubleshooting from the get go. Mandrake is very easy to install, but the fundamentals are quite different than what you're used to. This time pay closer attention to the install process... especially of the X server. Make sure to select your video card from the list, and that you correctly configure your monitor and input devices. If you have a super-generic monitor which is also non plug&play , now would be a good time to find out its vertical and horizontal sync ranges. For most monitors, this can either be automatically detected, or you can choose your model from the list. But there are some funky no-name screens out there, and in that case you'll need to add the ranges by hand.

Let me know if you need any more help.
    -AT

3. ninja fetus

thanks!

4. ninja fetus

you can install linux ontop of windows right?

5. ninja fetus

and, what does partitioning do? (i feel so noob)