Question about AMD cpu's :P

Discussion in 'CPU, Motherboards and Memory' started by sniperfox, Aug 6, 2005.

1. sniperfox

sniperfox Geek Trainee

Im not very good at this computer stuff, so maybe someone can help me out.. :)

my graphics card and other hardware is bottlenecked due to my cpu. So, the shadey salesmen at the computer store are persuading me to buy a new one..

right now, i have an AMD Athlon xp 2400+ (notice its not athlon 64)

what he's trying to sell me, is an AMD Athlon 64 (i heard the 64 was important) 3000+ socket 754.
    this is costing me 370 canadian (as i need a new mother board too, otherwise i'd have to buy a new graphics card too, as its not pci)

i only really need the computer for gaming, and my ram and gpu is fine..
    can anyone tell me if i will notice a difference if i switch to this cpu?
    like... a big difference?? i know it wont be the best, but i want better then what i have now! :D :) like i said, im bottlenecked now

2. Xero

Xero Geek Trainee

i think it would be better to go for a 939 socket because next time you upgrade there ain't gonna be no more 754 sockets, and yes you will feel the difference, im not sure about CA dollars because im from Australia but that sound rather expensive...

hdfk likes this.
  3. ninja fetus

ninja fetus I'm a thugged out gangsta

socket 754 is a budget socket, he's ripping you off. I'm not all up to date on the latest-greatest hardware but Exfoliate, a regular here, will dop by and help you out.

4. sniperfox

sniperfox Geek Trainee

hey!
    thanks for the quick reply.
    dont worry, next time i upgrade , ill get a 939 socket. (my old hardware goes to my fathers buisness for spares, so its a win win situation) i cant get a 939 right yet, because aparently its not compatible with my current graphic card.