The Moon .jpg

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by zeus, Dec 10, 2008.

1. zeus

zeus out of date

Im feeling quite proud of this pic I took tonight. Especially when I google for pics with the same equipment. Its my very first attempt at this kind of thing though I have used CCDs on a decent telescope with Drs and Profs showing us what to do. Basically I can reduce the raw data and apply dark frames.

http://www.hardwareforums.com/photoplog/image-718/

Moon
    9/12/08 21:33 approx 0'c
    Canon 350d 90-300 @ 300
    30 frames of 1/1000s f5.6 ISO200
    5 dark frames of 1/1000s
    Reduced and combined in MaxDSLR.... only one High-pass kernel sharpening filter was used.
    Cropped and reduced to 75% of original (Im not sure how the gallery has resized it. 75% crop might not be true)

Here is another from tonight. (10/12/08)
    It is essentially the same only taken at 16:02 and at ISO800.
    http://www.hardwareforums.com/photoplog/image-719/

2. donkey42

donkey42 plank

now you're just showing off[ot]donkey slaps the back of Zeus's legs, in the hope that Zeus returns the favour by slapping the back of donkey's legs[/ot]but good pics

BTW: i'm a plank, i spent 3 hours trying to figure out why mplayer dependencies wouldn't install & finally realized that i was having a problem that was showing as fixed, so, i had a cig & did some good thinking, i finally realized & did apt-get upgrade :doh: i'm a proper plank

3. thomas234

thomas234 Big Geek

Weird, I was thinking about doing this a couple of nights ago (well taking photos of the moon). Yours are really good though (I prefer the first one). I only have an 18-200 though so with 6megapixels, cropping would make the image look pretty crap!

4. zeus

zeus out of date

Well if your gonna have a crack tonight is the night..... weather permitting, of course.

The moon is 28,000km closer than usual tonight which means its 14% bigger in the sky and 30% brighter.