What Kind Of Desktop Configuration Is Suitable For Software Development Use

Discussion in 'CPU, Motherboards and Memory' started by Priyabrata Chakraverti, Dec 24, 2014.

?

What should I choose ?

1. i5

50.0%
  2. i7

50.0%
  1. Priyabrata Chakraverti

Priyabrata Chakraverti Geek Trainee

First of all, I know that is question is really vague, and doesn't really have an answer per se. If I am in the wrong place for this type of question, do excuse me for that. So, what I want is more of a suggestion, than definite answer.

I work as a software developer, mainly working with android(Eclipse-ADT), web-development(PhpStorm, Webstorm, DreamWeaver) and windows applications development(Using VS). So, for testing purpose, I need to run lot of VMs (VMWare, Virtual Box) and emulators(for android).

At present I am working in a i3 2.10 GHz laptop with 6 GB of RAM and 1 GB of dedicated Graphics memory(nVidia).

I am looking to build a desktop solely to fit my development needs as I am facing very frequent slowdowns in the laptop while working.

I've gone through the details of the Core i5 and Core i7 processors and I know their tech specs and what I am concerned with is, do I need i7 or is i5 sufficient for what I do.

Given, i5 doesn't support Hyper Threading and have 4(four) physical cores and 6 MB of cache, and i7 with Hyper Threading and 8mb of cache and 4 physical cores, the difference boils down to the 2 MB of cache and HT.

I know that 2 mb of cache is a HUGE difference.

Question is, how much difference in performance created by the presence and absence of HT technology with respect to the applications I run for my daily development work ?

2. Big B

Big B HWF Godfather