Wolfenstein: ET

Discussion in 'Video Gaming' started by megamaced, Mar 30, 2006.

1. megamaced

megamaced Geek Geek Geek!

I'm a complete newbie at first-person online multiplayer games (I know - where have I been for the last 10 years? :D ).

Problem is I am suffering a lot of lag when I play this game and I'm trying to determine the route cause.

When I'm inside a building on my own everything runs smooth.

When I am outside and there a guns and bombs going off, the lag begins and the sound distorts!
    When this happens it's very difficult to move around in the game. My charactor will often jump backwards every now and then when I am trying to walk forwards!

Prehaps my computer isn't good enough?
    Pentium 3 1GHz
    384MB SDRAM
    nVidia Geforce2 Ultra 64MB

Prehaps my internet connection is too slow?
    I've noticed that in the game I have a very high PING. It's around about 800/900. What does this mean?
    Can anybody recommend an app that can determine my internet speed?

Prehaps the host (server) at the other end is too bogged down?
    Unlikely seen as everyone else can move OK!

Any ideas?

2. pelvis_3

pelvis_3 HWF Member For Life

To me it sounds like a combination of internet lag and not enough RAM.
    Have you tried to connect to a low ping server yet?

3. Matt555

Matt555 iMod

I think it's a combination of Internet Connection and PC Specs. My rig runs it okay although it does lag sometimes. Also if someone on the server you're on has a very high ping it can cause lots of lag for everybody.

4. megamaced

That's my point - I have a very high ping! My ping is around 700~900 whilst everyone else is around 50~200. What does this mean exactly?

5. Matt555

Matt555 iMod

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=define:+ping&btnG=Google+Search