AMD cool n quiet quest.

Discussion in 'CPU, Motherboards and Memory' started by Girtho961, Aug 31, 2005.

1. Girtho961

Girtho961 Big Geek

Well i turned amd cool n quiet and q fan, but i havent noticed any difference in clock speed or voltage when im running idle. Does it take a long time to take effect(i waited about 20-30 mintutes). Off topic but will a small oclock form 2.2 to 2.4 (athlon 64 3700+ SD core skt 939) what type of effect will it make on my system.

2. bobbyk

bobbyk Big Geek

Cool n Quiet works in tandem with Core Cell - at least with MSI boards. I studied its performance benefit, and the thing does work. Here's how to check if your system is properly using this feature: In the BIOS, check to see that Cool n Quiet is enabled. Disable Dynamic Overclocking while there, too. In Windows, activate Core Cell, and run your favorite Benchmark ( say, 3DMarkXX). You'll notice that your system performance will increase with Core Cell enabled. I like this cause I don't have to OC my system all the time; it kicks in only when I really need it. By the way, Core Cell will autimatically lower your CPU's Speed at start-up, slowimg down your fan speed as well.

3. Girtho961

Girtho961 Big Geek

well i have an asus a8n-e (nforce 4 ultra) and mine doesnt have that core cell your talking about, did you download that from the internet or does it come with MSI boards.

4. Matt555

Matt555 iMod

i have MSI core cell on my MSI 865PE-Neo2 motherboard. (socket 478)

5. Girtho961

Girtho961 Big Geek

AI NOS™
    Boost performance when you need it the most!
    Applications such as 3D games and video editing demand a huge chunk of system resource.
    Inject "nitrous oxide" into your CPU! The patented AI NOS™ (Non-delay Overclocking System) technology intelligently detects system load and automatically boosts performance for the most demanding tasks. Unlike other dynamic overclocking techniques, AI NOS™ reacts much faster to satisfy your unending need for speeds.