Overclocking Athlon XP 2800+ Barton

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by johnvosh, Feb 10, 2005.

1. johnvosh

johnvosh Geek Trainee

Hi, I was wondering if anyone could help. I want to overclock my friends computer which has an AMD Athlon XP 2800+ Barton CPU @ 2.08 GHz. It has a Gigabyte GA7N400 Pro 2 Rev.1 Motherboard, 1.5GB of PC2700 ram, 128MB PCI Radeon 9200se video and PCI Modem. He is using a standard AMD cooler with copper base. We want to overclock it to at least a Athlon 3000+, 2,167 MHz. I am new to overclocking and don't know how I would go about doing this. Thanks.

2. ninja fetus

ninja fetus I'm a thugged out gangsta

with a retail heatsink don't overclock at all. They run way too hot and will likely fry it if you don't know what you're doing. It's not worth overclocking with that system anyway, video card is really holding him back and so is the RAM speed. Gigabyte's also aren't really motherboards to overclock with. I would say leave it alone, 2800+'s are plenty fast enough and not worth the risk.

3. ProcalX

ProcalX all grown up

First off NF is right about your HeatSink & Fan, the Stock AMD HSF is not good for overclocking at all, so you will need to get a good Socket A HeatSink & Fan, i suggest a CoolerMaster Jet 7+ or a Zalman Socket A Cooler - both very good and under £30.

Second of all i disagree with NF's opinion on your motherboard, the Gigabyte range of motherboards are just as good for overclocking as most Socket A motherboards, i've used them myself and you will have no problem with this.

Onto the overclocking, your limited by your memory - NOT your video card as NF says, overclocking your FSB (memory:cpu) will not effect your video card unless you overclock to far - which can harm / damage your cpu / motherboard / memory which inturn will effect your video card.

Check out these threads - and read my posts on overclocking:
    http://www.hardwareforums.com/showthread.php?t=4030