Very poor 3DMark2001 score ... why???

Discussion in 'Video Cards, Displays and TV Tuners' started by spuff, Feb 17, 2004.

1. spuff

spuff Big Geek

I've got an AMD Athlon 2400+ XP CPU, Sapphire Radeon 9200 Atlantis graphics card and MSI K7N2 Delta-L m/b ... I've just started benchmarking and with 3DMark2001, I got a score of 2093 ... this doesn't mean much to me but in comparison to other people with similar or lower specs, it's extemely poor ... is there something I should know about my graphics card settings or something? I am a newbie to all this so that's why I ask! thanks!

2. Big B

Big B HWF Godfather

Did you install your chipset drivers? Did you get newer video card drivers? ATi's latest are Catalyst 4.1.

3. spuff

spuff Big Geek

I thought I had the latest version but it would appear I have version 3.10 ... is that bad? I'm gonna download the drivers I think ... right now!

4. harrack52

harrack52 Supreme Geek

Make sure you uninstall your current drivers with the catalyst uninstaller. Also, if you had an nvidia card before use drivercleaner.

you should also install your chipset drivers before the catalyst.

P.S. Latest drivers are 4.2

5. spuff

spuff Big Geek

Well, it would appear something as simple as installing the latest drivers slipped by me because I've just done that and now I have a score of 5835!! Whoopsie-daisy!

6. Big B

Big B HWF Godfather

That's more like it.

7. Plain_Simple

Plain_Simple Geek Trainee

wow you got a 5835 on 3DMark 2001? man my rig must really suck. I get around 6100 with my 9600 np. :rolleyes:

but that's okay. i'll be building myself a new rig around the end of the year or the early months of next year.

8. Anti-Trend

Anti-Trend Nonconformist Geek

It's likely your CPU (P4~1.7GHz) and your RAM (PC-133) that are bottlenecking your 3D-Mark score. :( But, synthetic benchmarks aren't as important as they're often drummed up to be. It's your actual gaming performance and quality that counts, right?

9. Big B